Doctor Sudy

UT ASTRA doctoral schools

Doctoral schools aim to improve the quality and efficiency of doctoral studies in cooperation between universities and other partner institutions. The activities of doctoral schools include both specialised and interdisciplinary interests, supporting international cooperation between students in their studies and research.

There are 11 doctoral schools at the University of Tartu. Since autumn 2017, the project managers of doctoral schools meet regularly to exchange information and experiences. Since 2018, doctoral schools organise joint events for all doctoral students of the University of Tartu.

ASTRA doctoral schools were launched in 2009. Since 2016, doctoral schools are part of the funding measure “Institutional development programme ASTRA for research and development and higher education institutions” (The University of Tartu ASTRA project PER ASPERA). Their activities are funded by the European Regional Development Fund.

  • Doctoral School of Earth Sciences and Ecology
  • Graduate School of Functional Materials and Technologies
  • Doctoral School of Information and Communication Technology
  • Estonian Doctoral School in Mathematics and Statistics
  • Doctoral School of Biomedicine and Biotechnology

  • Doctoral School in Economics and Innovation
  • Estonian Doctoral School of Educational Sciences
  • Doctoral School of Behavioural, Social and Health Sciences​​​​​​​

  • Graduate School of Culture Studies and Arts
  • Graduate School of Linguistics, Philosophy and Semiotics

  • Doctoral School of Clinical Medicine