University of Tartu, Estonia


Johan Skytte Institute of Political Science, which is a part of UT's Faculty of Social Sciences, offers cutting-edge study programmes, hosts the Center for EU – Russia Studies, the Centre for Applied Social Sciences and various additional working units and is strongly engaged in international cooperation. The Institute has a variety of international partners among universities, research institutions, higher education institutions and other institutions abroad. University of Tartu, founded in 1632, is Estonia’s leading centre of research and training. UT belongs to the top 3% of world’s best universities and is also a member of the Coimbra Group, a prestigious club of renowned research universities. UT includes four faculties (Faculty of Arts and Humanities, Faculty of Social Sciences, Faculty of Medicine and Faculty Science and Technology) and has 13,400 students (including over 800 international students from 70 countries). UT has bilateral cooperation agreements with 71 partner universities in 27 countries.

Within the Network for Developing European Studies in the Caucasus, the University of Tartu is the leading partner and coordinates the activities of consortium. University of Tartu has held the first network meeting in 2015 and will host the young researchers' seminar in 2018. 

UT's team within the network is represented by administrative and academic staff of the Johan Skytte Institute of Political Studies:

Olga Bogdanova - Deputy Head for Academic Affairs, DESCnet consortium leader 

Olena Solohub - Project Coordinator, DESCnet coordinator

Prof. Thomas Kruessmann - Project Coordinator, DESCnet coordinator

Prof. Andrey Makarychev - Professor at the Johan Skytte Institute of Political Studies, DESCnet Academic Coordinator

Dr. Stefano Braghiroli - Lecturer in European Studies, Programme manager of MA programme "EU-Russia Studies"