Keynote Speakers


Konverentsi toetab osaliselt Euroopa Regionaalarengu Fondi ASTRA programmi projekt Per Aspera.

The conference is partially funded by the project PER ASPERA (ASTRA programme, European Regional Development Fund).




Peter Felten

Peter Felten is an assistant provost for teaching and learning, the executive director of the Center for Engaged Learning, and a professor of history.  His recent publications include the co-authored books The Undergraduate Experience (Jossey-Bass, 2016), Transforming Students: Fulfilling the Promise of Higher Education (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2014), and Engaging Students as Partners in Learning and Teaching (Jossey-Bass, 2014). In 2010-2011, he served as the president of the POD Network, and in 2016-2017 he is the president of the International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning. He is also a co-editor of the International Journal for Academic Development


Erik de Graaff

Erik de Graaff (PhD) is a professor at the Aalborg Centre for Problem Based Learning in Engineering Science and Sustainability under the auspices of UNESCO. He has contributed to the promotion of knowledge and understanding of higher engineering education with numerous publications and through active participation in professional organizations like SEFI, IGIP, IFEES and ALE. In the course of his career, he has published over 200 articles and papers and he has presented more than 70 keynotes and invited lectures on various topics related to PBL in higher education. Since January 2008, he is Editor-in-Chief of the European Journal of Engineering Education.

SEFI – Société Européenne des Formation des Ingénieurs

IGIP – Internationales Gesellschaft für Ingenieurs Pädagogik

IFEES – International Federation of Engineering Education Societies

ALE – International Workgroup on Active Learning in Engineering


Anneli Saro

Anneli Saro is the Professor of Theatre Research and the Vice Rector for Academic Affairs of the University of Tartu, Estonia. Prior to that she has served as the Vice Dean for Academic Affairs of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities, University of Tartu.

Anneli Saro has been a convener of the international working groups Project on European Theatre Systems (2004-2008) and Theatrical Event (2011-2017). She has been active as the Editor-in-Chief of Nordic Theatre Studies (2013-2015) and as a member of the executive committee of the International Federation for Theatre Research (2007-2015).

Professor Anneli Saro has published articles on the history and system of Estonian theatre, on performance theory and audience research. She has edited several books, amongst others Global Changes - Local Stages. How Theatre Functions in Smaller European Countries (2009, with Hans van Maanen and Andreas Kotte) and Eesti teatriteaduse perspektiivid (2013). Her most recent book 101 Eesti teatrisündmust has been published in 2017.


Andy Penaluna and Kathryn Penaluna

Professor Andy Penaluna is the director of International Institute for Creative Entrepreneurial Development at University of Wales Trinity Saint David. He is an expert on enterprise education at the United Nations in Geneva and the European Commission, where he was a part of the EntreComp team. He also led the development of teacher training for 8 countries in South East Europe (SEECEL) and has worked on developing entrepreneurial schools and colleges / HE level creativity at the OECD in Paris.

Andy is currently an education advisor on enterprise within the Westminster Government’s Industrial Strategy Review and chairs the Quality Assurance Agency (QAA) for Higher Education’s Enterprise and Entrepreneurship group. Not unlike school inspectors, QAA are an independent body entrusted with monitoring, and advising on, standards and quality in all UK higher education provision.

In Wales, Andy is the professorial advisor on widening skills group for their Department for Education and the CAMAU projects – groups charged with implementing the Donaldson review, which call on all Welsh schools to develop ambitious capable learners who are enterprising and creative contributors.

In 2014 the Enterprise Sector Skills body ‘SFEDI’ honoured Andy in the House of Lords as their educator of the year, and in 2015 he received the Queens Award for Enterprise Promotion at Buckingham Palace. In 2016 he was named as one of the UK’s top ‘Maserati 100’ entrepreneurs alongside the Prime Minister’s advisor Lord Young. 

Kathryn Penaluna is the Associate Professor  and the Enterprise Manager of the University of Wales Trinity Saint David and Entrepreneurship Champion, Welsh Government.

Kathryn uses her experiences as a bank manager and a partner in a graphic design studio to develop a contextualized entrepreneurship curriculum across the University’s four faculties. She is an internationally renowned researcher on enterprise education, which focusses on the role of innovative and creative thought within mindset development. She is engaged with the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, the European Commission and Welsh Government. As an acknowledged specialist in delivering intellectual property awareness she is leading new educational initiatives with the UK Intellectual Property Office.

Kathryn manages the infrastructure for student, graduate and staff business start-ups and is a regular keynote presenter on the approaches that have led to UWTSD’s enviable track record in both start-ups and survival rates, which she credits to the invaluable expertise and support of her alumni.


Hilkka Hiiop

Hilkka Hiiop (PhD) is a Professor at the Estonian Academy of Art, Departement of Cultural Heritage and Conservation.

She was trained as an art historian at the University of Tartu and got her MA degree in conservation of cultural heritage from the Estonian Academy of Art. Her PhD thesis discussed the conservation management of contemporary art. She has studied and worked as a conservator in Berlin, Amsterdam and Rome, supervised a number of conservation and technical investigation projects in Estonia, curated exhibitions, and conducted scientific research on conservation and technical art history.