If you need to remove all learners from the course you need to unenrol the users: click in the settings Unenrol users. All the necessary settings are already in place – you only need to complete the unenrolment. In the course of unenrolment also the connection between the course syllabus in the SIS and the e-course is deleted.
If you only need to remove single persons from the course, you need to do it manually. The method of unenrolment depends on how the people were added to the e-course: manual enrolment, self-enrolment with key, or via SIS. For every person the respective information is visible on the page Registered users: Settings – Registered users – button i in the column Status.
1. Unenrolment of learners
A. If learners have been added to a Moodle e-course via SIS
If the overnight transfer of learners is activated in SIS, the list of people enrolled to the course in SIS is verified every night and unenrolled students are removed from the course in SIS. In the case of bulk unenrolment, all learners who were added via SIS are unenrolled from the e-course.
If learners were added via SIS and the overnight transfer of learners is not activated, the teacher can manually remove learners from the e-course by selecting Settings – Users – Enrolment methods; in the last column on line SIS (button with figures) – choose learner’s name and click Remove.
B. If learners were not added to the course via SIS
The teacher can manually remove learners from the e-course: Settings – Users – Registered users – click delete (waste bin) icon in the last column.
2. Removing teachers
A. If a teacher was added to the e-course via SIS syllabus
If in the SIS syllabus Manage Moodle connections a link has been created between the syllabus and the Moodle e-course and the information is updated (button Refresh information in Moodle), the teachers marked as lecturers of the respective syllabus are added to the course.
- If there are teachers in a Moodle e-course who were added to the course earlier through another syllabus (i.e. another syllabus of the same course or of another course), they are not automatically removed from the courses when information is refreshed in SIS on the Moodle connections page – and should be removed manually, if necessary (see last paragraph).
- If a teacher is removed from the SIS syllabus after the connection was made between the syllabus and the Moodle course, the teacher is also removed from the Moodle course when information is refreshed in the Moodle connections page in SIS.
- All teachers of the course must be marked as lecturers at the syllabus in SIS. If teachers have been added to a Moodle course via SIS, but it is important that some of them should not have access to the Moodle course, they should be removed from the course manually (see next paragraph). However, it should be kept in mind that after they are manually removed, information in the Moodle connections page in SIS should not be refreshed because otherwise these teachers are added again to the e-course. Overnight transfer of learners should still be active, because this does not involve refreshing course information (incl. adding teachers to the course).
To manually remove teachers from a course: Settings – Users – Enrolment methods – in the SIS line in the last column, select the icon with figures – select the teacher’s name and click Remove.
B. If a teacher was added to the e-course manually
The teacher can manually remove other teachers from the e-course: Settings – Users – Registered users – click delete (waste bin) icon in the last column.