The Centre was co-founded within the University of Tartu on February 23, 2004 by prof. Mihkel Zilmer (Department of Biochemistry), prof. Rein Teesalu (Department of Cardiology) and assoc. prof. Andres Pulges (Department of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery).

Main Researchers


Prof. Jaak Kals, MD, PhD 
Assoc. Prof. Priit Kampus, MD, PhD 
Prof. Mihkel Zilmer, Dr. med. 
Prof. Jaan Eha, MD, PhD 
Kaido Paapstel, MD, PhD 
Kaspar Tootsi, MD, PhD 
Maksim Zagura, MD, PhD 
Martin Serg, MD, PhD 
Erik Salum, MD, PhD 
Riina Kaur, research nurse 



Prof. Emer. Rein Teesalu, MD, PhD
Andres Pulges, MD, PhD


PhD Students 

Karl Kuusik, MD
Teele Kepler, MD
Tuuli Teeäär, MD
Priit Pauklin, MD
Triin Kaldur, MSc

Tuljo Ööbik, MD